University of California, Riverside

Diversity @ UCR

Women's Faculty Association


News and Updates

Bella Merlin is named the CHASS Patricia McSweeny McCauley Chair in Teaching Excellence!


Current Leadership

Sang-Hee Lee

Sang-Hee Lee, Co-Chair
Sang-Hee Lee started at UCR as an Assistant Professor in Anthropology in 2001, was promoted to Associate Professor in 2007, and to Professor in 2017. Lee is happy to be a part of the WFA leadership in 2017-18, as the co-chair of the executive committee. Lee has taken leadership roles in the college, as a department chair (2012-15), associate dean of student academic affairs (2016-17), and associate dean of social sciences (2017-). Lee has authored and co-authored more than 30 peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters, and has written a book on human evolution.

Katherine Stavropoulos, Co-Chair

Katherine Stavropoulos, Co-Chair
Katherine Stavropoulos is an Assistant Professor in the Graduate School of Education. Her research interests include understanding neural correlates of the reward system in children with autism spectrum disorders (ASD), as well as broader topics in social cognitive neuroscience.

Alejandra Dubcovsky

Alejandra Dubcovsky
Alejandra Dubcovsky is an Assistant Professor of History at the University of California, Riverside. She earned her BA and PhD from UC Berkeley. Her first book, Informed Power: Communication in the Early American South, examines how people communicated in the pre-print, pre-postal American South. She teaches classes in early America, War and Rebellion, and Pirates!

Rachel Wu

Rachel Wu, Co-Chair
Rachel Wu is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology (since 2015). Her research focuses on how we learn across the lifespan from infancy to aging adulthood. Rachel is currently the Mentoring Chair of the WFA.






Past Leadership

Sharon Walker

Sharon Walker
Sharon Walker is Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering and John Babbage Chair in Environmental Engineering in Bourns College of Engineering She arrived at UCR in January 2005 and previously served as Associate Dean in Graduate Division and Associate Dean in BCOE. Currently, she serves as Interim Dean of BCOE. She was a co-PI on the NSF Advance Grant (2012-2015) that initiated the Women’s Faculty Association and organized, along with Yolanda Moses (PI), Cindy Larive (co-PI) and Marylynn Yates (co-PI) the first four years of retreats and programming for WFA. She also lead the efforts for the WFA mentoring program in 2013-2015.

Elaine Wong

Elaine Wong
Elaine Wong joined the School of Business in 2012, and is currently an Associate Professor of Management. She also serves as the Associate Dean for the Academic Undergraduate Business Program. Upon joining UCR, Elaine was immediately excited to discover the Women's Faculty Association. The organization's retreat and luncheon series have not only provided key information, but also a supportive community that has been central to her career at the University. She chaired the WFA from 2015 to 2017.

Cynthia Larive

Cynthia Larive
Cynthia Larive is currently the Interim Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor of UCR, and previously served as Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and Interim Dean of the College of Natural & Agricultural Sciences. She joined the UCR faculty in 2005 as professor of chemistry, a department she chaired in the 2012-13 academic year. She then served as Divisional Dean for Physical and Mathematical Sciences from 2013 until 2016. Along with Sharon Walker, Yolanda Moses, and Marylynn Yates, she helped relaunch the WFA after a decade of dormancy, served as co-PI on the NSF Advance grant, and helped organize the annual retreats funded by the grant.


The History of the WFA at UCR

Our NSF-supported FORWARD program has provided the impetus to reinvigorate the UCR Women's Faculty Association, providing a mechanism to sustain the programming developed through our ADVANCE program beyond the grant period. The Women's Faculty Association is open to all ladder rank faculty. Many of our activities are also open to lecturers and research professionals who do not have formal academic appointments, for example agriculture extension specialists.

The UCR Women's Faculty Association was an important institutional presence on our campus for many years. Started by Prof. Betty Lord and later shepherded by Prof. Nancy Beckage, the Women's Faculty Association fostered community and provided a voluntary mentoring service connecting junior faculty with more senior mentors outside their department. As the driving forces behind the Women's Faculty Association transitioned to retirement, the organization became inactive.

Through our NSF ADVANCE grant, the Women's Faculty Association has sponsored a series of lunch meetings that provide opportunities for women to share in a lecture/discussion of general interest, meet informally and develop a support community outside of their department. During the 2011-2012 academic year, luncheon topics included a discussion of the promotion and tenure process at UCR, strategies for effective mentoring, women's health and well-being, the extraordinary differences between males and females in the animal kingdom, and how the myth that women faculty can 'Just Say No' to service obscures and promotes gender inequities.

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012